Note to Self: If Outside Temperature is Warmer Than Body Temperature, Stay Indoors


If The Black Crowes’ song was titled “Hot to Handle”, it would’ve been a perfect description for Sunday’s weather. But, the name of the song was “Hard to Handle”, rendering the previous sentence absolutely worthless.

During the slow summer months, we often times have a chance to have some fun during our dinner breaks. After tonight’s 5:30PM Newscast, I jetted over to Papillion for a little co-ed softball on the KETV team (I believe there are 4 KETV employees on the team). I’ve never played softball, baseball, or football in that type of heat before. Well, maybe I did, but I was probably too young to think about the heat index relative to the death factor. My second mistake: I neglected to remove my foundation from the newscast. That’s right, we wear make-up. I’m over it.

Needless to say, it was a sweat-soaked game… and our team lost 13-to-3. We got 10-run-ruled. It was more of a strategy on our part to end the game as quickly as possible. We were able to get off the field and into our air-conditioned cars… giving new meaning to the phrase “Mercy Rule”.

Maybe this is too much info, but I didn’t shower in-between the softball game and the 10 o’clock Newscast. In a related story, anchor Suzanne Deyo was seen running out of the building covering her nose at the immediate conclusion of the broadcast. My apologies.

My fellow, less-capable blogger says the weather will get worse this week, hitting 102 degrees on Wednesday. I’ll enjoy it with a game of baseball.

On ESPN.

7 Responses

  1. How horrible for Suzanne Deyo. I can see that she’s pregnant, and being pregnant can heighten your sense of smell. That must’ve been a long night at the desk!

    I enjoy these blogs. They are quite entertaining! Thanks.

  2. You smelled really bad during Sunday night’s broadcast…

    And I’m pretty sure I’m winning the blog war. Scoreboard, Matt… Score. Board.

    John

  3. John,

    I am left aghast by your sophomoric comments.

    I would expect something like that from Bill… but not you.

    Methinks you should focus your attention on your predicting skills.

    The forecast for this “blog-war” does not call for any “top-ten days” for you.

    Cheers,
    Matt

  4. I feel sorry for Suzanne Deyo. Being pregnant, she most likely has a heightened sense of smell. I’m sure it was terrible sitting at that anchor desk with you!

    I’m glad you’ve started doing the blog thing. I love checkin’ in to see what you’re up to. These are very funny. Keep it up!

  5. Matt – I think you guys played the team that I used to play for and occasionally sub for this year. They actually asked me to play on Sunday, but I had relatives visiting and couldn’t. That’s too bad.

    Who else from KETV is on the team? Sounds like fun.

  6. Brian –

    Too bad you couldn’t make it. I played a decent shortstop. The throwing error accredited to me was the result of a defective softball.

    Don’t worry, I believe your “relatives visiting” excuse.

    Although it was hot enough to warrant a fabricated “out”.

  7. Sorry, didn’t clarify more…my wife’s family was visiting…so needless to say, it was either spend time with them or go have fun and get the evil eye for a while thereafter from my wife. Ha ha.

    Perhaps you were lucky I wasn’t there. Last game I played as a sub a few weeks back, I went 4-for-5 with 2 1B’s, 1 3B and an inside-the-park-HR. And yes, the field had a fence. I believe we won 30-1 in that one.

    I’ll have to see if they play you guys again, in which case I will see what I can do to be part of their lineup. 😉

Leave a comment