Making a Change

Perhaps you’ve read about it on a blog or heard about it on an internet message board.  If that’s the case, it must be a slow day on said blog or message board.

After four years at KETV, I will be leaving my full-time position to pursue a job in radio.

Things change, circumstances change, and sometimes it’s simply time for a change.  I’ve always lived by the mantra that if you’re not growing, you’re dying.  After four years as KETV’s weekend sports anchor, it’s time to grow in another direction.  I get so much joy out of being at the desk on the 6pm and 10pm newscasts.  KETV gave me the chance to produce what I hope were entertaining stories and sportscasts, handing me the creative license to carve out my own niche.  However, as I stared at my fifth Husker football season at KETV, I wasn’t sure I could give it everything it deserved.  That’s when I knew it was time for a change.

I will be co-hosting a morning sportstalk show on 1620 “The Zone” from 9am-12pm Monday through Friday.  Former Creighton Bluejay Nick Bahe will join me in this new venture.  He and I have worked together before, albeit with Bahe being the subject of one of my stories.  He is eager to break into the broadcasting business on a consistent basis, while I am looking for a new challenge.  Together, we hope to put out a product that is slightly above a train wreck.

I will still write occasionally on this blog and you will still see me from time-to-time on television.  I will remain on in a part-time capacity, anchoring our Big Red Zone coverage throughout much of the year while  helping out another night or two during the week.  I thank KETV for allowing me to keep my foot in the door, as I believe in my heart that my future is in television.  But right now, the time is right to pursue another avenue for professional growth.

I thank you for inviting me into your living rooms every weekend for the last four years.  Now I hope you will allow me into your car.

18 Responses

  1. As long as you’ll keep on KETV for a little bit here and there and keep writing on your blog, many people will be happy. You certainly have a true gift of sports broadcasting, whether it be on TV or on radio. I think you will be wonderful on the radio and look forward to listening to 1620 more often.

  2. Thanks, SydB.

    As long as KETV can use my services, you’ll see me on there every so often. I appreciate your kind words.

    Matt

  3. You will be missed greatly! I always enjoyed your stories and humor that you brought to the nightly newscasts. Good luck on your new adventure.

  4. Good luck Matt!

  5. Best of luck, Matt. You are the best!

  6. good luck with the radio gig, although that last line about getting into my car is a bit creepy.

  7. We will sure miss you. Your sports reports were the most enjoyable of all. With your humor and stories, I always looked forward to ‘your’ sports on the weekends. I’m not much of a talk radio person, but I wish you good luck and hope you will enjoy your new venture. I’m sure you’ll have lots and lots of faithful listeners.

  8. Matt, Sorry you are not going to be on TV. I enjoyed your humor in sports. Will now start listening to you on 1620.

  9. Ok, I just got a little teary-eyed. Good luck with everything and know that you will be missed. We love to watch you and I always get a kick out of your blog, so I hope you can continue with that.

  10. Matt,
    I’ve certainly enjoyed your sports broadcasts over the past several years. You have a talent for bringing humor into your reports. I especially enjoyed your Minute with Matt ??? (‘one-on-one’ with the Husker players) which aired on Saturday mornings during the football season. I certainly hope you continue to do those reports!!!!!
    Good luck in your new venture on the radio and am looking forward to seeing you on KETV from time to time.

  11. We have thoroughly enjoyed listening to your stories and humorous comments these last several years. We somehow knew we would lose you…the good ones keep moving on! Good luck with the radio show, and we will enjoy seeing you whenever you make an appearance on KETV.

  12. hate to see u go, but will have to tune in now to listen to you and Mr. Bahe. Good Luck!

  13. Matt-
    We will definitely miss your humor on a regular basis on KETV, but I’m happy you will still make an appearance now and then and glad you are getting a new opportunity. Wishing you the best of luck with both endeavors.

  14. Matt –
    I have noticed that I hadn’t seen you at the sports desk for a couple of weeks. I had figured that you were interviewing, most likely for the natural progression in your career – a gig with ESPN.
    Glad to hear you’re sticking around, and I’ll have to start listening to the radio. Best of luck. I know we’ll all be saying, “I knew him when….”

  15. can i be in charge of the blog?

  16. I just noticed this ater the first Big Red games started,
    and you will be missed.
    Good Luck on Radio,,,,and hope to see your comments on the games from time to time. Alway appreciated , what I considered a balanced view point of the Huskers Coach, team etc….and I always enjoyed your re-caps with your sense of humor.
    Best of Luck to you Matt !

  17. Your leaving KETV as a full-time sportscaster will be a loss to them AND to us. I truly enjoyed listening to your humorous take of the evening Sports and the Big Red Zone coverage, not to mention your “in the field” stories. A face as cute as yours shouldn’t be in radio (are you blushing?). We’ll miss you. Good luck!

  18. Matt~
    I wondered where you’d been. Just thought that you were on a well deserved vacation. Congrats on the job change! So many of us are afraid to break out of our “comfort zone” and try something new.

    ABC and KETV sports just isn’t the same without you! Especially after watching you on NTV out of Kearney and then having you on Channel 7 as well.

    Best of Luck to you on your new journey!

    Lorraine Parker
    Columbus

Leave a Reply

